Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month

1 May

When I was a kid, taking standardized tests always meant filling in the Asian/Pacific Islander bubble for the question about my race. Now, as I begin to apply to jobs and graduate school, ‘Asian’ is its own category – often with subcategories listing various East and South Asian countries. (I’m sure Pacific Islanders are similarly relieved to not be lumped into the Asian group.)

As May is Asian-Pacific American Heritage Month, I’m working on a series of posts about famous Asian Americans here and for Brown Girl Magazine.

Asian and Pacific Islanders officially encompasses all of the Asian continent and the Pacific islands of Melanesia (New Guinea, New Caledonia, Vanuatu, Fiji and the Solomon Islands), Micronesia (Marianas, Guam, Wake Island, Palau, Marshall Islands, Kiribati, Nauru and the Federated States of Micronesia) and Polynesia (New Zealand, Hawaiian Islands, Rotuma, Midway Islands, Samoa, American Samoa, Tonga, Tuvalu, Cook Islands, French Polynesia and Easter Island).

Happy first day!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: